Novelis Celebrates Groundbreaking for New Automotive Finishing Line at Nachterstedt Facility

Investment expands aluminum sheet capacity for the automobile industry

NACHTERSTEDT, Germany, April 7, 2014

Novelis, the world leader in aluminum rolling and recycling, today celebrated the groundbreaking ceremony for a new automotive sheet finishing line at ist Nachterstedt, Germany, facility. Erwin Mayr, Senior Vice President of Novelis and President of Novelis Europe, made the symbolic shovel turn with Reiner Haseloff, Prime Minister of the German federal state of Saxony- Anhalt.

The EUR 62 Million expansion is in Response to the steadily growing demand for aluminum automotive sheet for light-weight vehicle structures and body panels. The new line will add 120,000 metric tons of annual capacity to the Nachterstedt plant’s automotive output. Novelis expects demand for aluminum automotive sheet in Europe to increase by an average of 15 percent per year over the next five years as carmakers focus on strategies to improve vehicle fuel efficiency and reduce CO2 emissions.

The expansion, which is scheduled to come on line in the second half of 2015, will create up to 120 new jobs and boost Novelis’ annual automotive production capacity for aluminum sheet in Europe to well over 350,000 metric tons.

AIC is assigned for General Engineering of this Investment.

Read more Novelis Press Release

Novelis feiert Spatenstich für neue Fertigungslinie am Standort Nachterstedt

Investition zur Erweiterung der Aluminiumblech-Kapazitäten für die Automobilindustrie

NACHTERSTEDT, DEUTSCHLAND, 7. April 2014 

Novelis, weltweit führend in der Herstellung von Aluminium-Walzprodukten und im Aluminium-Recycling, feierte heute den Spatenstich für eine neue Fertigungslinie, die Aluminiumblech für die Automobilindustrie liefern wird. Dr. Erwin Mayr, Senior Vice President und President Novelis Europe, führte den symbolischen Spatenstich gemeinsam mit Herrn Dr. Reiner Haseloff, Ministerpräsident von Sachsen-Anhalt durch.

Die Investition von rund 62 Millionen Euro ist eine direkte Reaktion auf den stetig steigenden Bedarf der Automobilhersteller an Aluminiumblech für den Karosserie-Leichtbau. Die neue Fertigungslinie wird die Produktionskapazität von Aluminiumblech für die Automobilindustrie um jährlich 120.000 Tonnen erweitern. Novelis erwartet, dass die Nachfrage der europäischen Automobilindustrie nach Aluminiumblech in den nächsten fünf Jahren um durchschnittlich 15 Prozent wachsen wird, da Automobilhersteller verstärkt an Möglichkeiten arbeiten, die ihre Fahrzeuge kraftstoffsparender machen.

Die neue Fertigungslinie, die in der zweiten Hälfte des Kalenderjahres 2015 in Betrieb gehen wird, schafft insgesamt 120 neue Arbeitsplätze und erhöht Novelis Produktionskapazität von Aluminiumblech für die Automobilindustrie in Europa auf rund 350.000 Tonnen.

AIC wurde mit der Generalplanung für dieses Projekt beauftragt.

Lesen Sie mehr unter Novelis Pressemitteilung